Boris E. Malyugin,

Moscow Russia

Boris Malyugin, MD, PhD is Professor of Ophthalmology, Deputy Director General (R&D, Edu) at the S. Fyodorov Eye Microsurgery State Institution.

Dr. Malyugin is the President of the Russian Ophthalmology Society (2016-current). European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) Board member (2011-2019), ESCRS Program Committee Member (2015-current). Boris Malyugin is a member of Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis and International Intraocular Implant Club, Advisory Committee member of International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO). Dr. Malyugin is an International Member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery.

Dr. Malyugin has published in the literature extensively, co-edited several books in different fields of ophthalmology, and contributed to the Atlas of Ophthalmic Surgery and Video Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery.

Dr. Malyugin serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery, EyeNet, Cataract and Refractive Surgery Today, Eurotimes, Ocular Surgery News, EyeWorld, The Ophthalmologist, Frontiers in Ophthalmology. He is a Chief Medical Editor of Ophthalmosurgery Journal (Russia), Modern Technologies in Ophthalmology (Russia) and the Russian Eurotimes.

Dr. Malyugin is an internationally recognized expert in the field of modern ophthalmic surgery, establishing himself at the forefront of advanced cataract and corneal surgery. He pioneered the device for pupil expansion for cataract surgery (Malyugin Ring), modified capsular tension ring for subluxated lenses (Malyugin modified CTR) and several other surgical instruments and technologies.

He is well known for his educational activities in Russia and abroad, and participated with invited lectures and live surgery sessions in numerous national and supranational meetings.

Prof. Boris Malyugin is the recipient of the Achievement Award for 2015 by the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), Cornelius Binkhorst Award for 2017 by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS), the M. Kritzinger Award for 2017 by International Society of Refractive Surgery (ISCRS), the C. Binkhorst Award for 2017 by the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS), John Pearce Award of United Kingdom and Ireland Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (UKISCRS) for 2017 and some others.